Maharashtra: Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray Sanctions 20 Crores for Raigad Fort, Hours After Taking Oath as State Chief

Maharashtra: Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray Sanctions 20 Crores for Raigad Fort, Hours After Taking Oath as State Chief

Moments after taking oath as 19th Chief Minister of Maharashtra, also the first one from the Thackerays to hold the top post, Uddhav Thackeray on Thursday held its first cabinet meeting of the new-formed ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi’ government in the state. Speaking at a Press Conference after the first cabinet meeting, Uddhav announced that the government will give 20 crores for the conservation of Chhatrapati Shivaji’s capital ‘Raigad Fort’.

Media Announcements by Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray:

“I am happy to tell you all that the first decision that this cabinet has taken is to approve 20 crores for the development of Raigad Fort which was the capital of Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj,” Uddhav Thackeray told the media. Assuring that his government will work for every section of the society, Thackeray added: “There won’t be a climate of fear”.

He said, “I want to help the farmers in a manner that will make them happy. I want to ensure that the money reaches the farmers, not just announcements. We will announce good news for Maharashtrian farmers in two days”. On being asked if the Shiv Sena has turned secular, the visibly furious Thackeray responded: “What does secularism mean? Whatever is written in the Constitution is there.”

Swearing-in Ceremony of Uddhav Thackeray:

Earlier today, in the evening he was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra at a ceremony held in Shivaji Park. Besides Thackeray, two legislators from the coalition – the Shiv Sena, the NCP, and the Congress, also took oath as ministers. They are Shiv Sena’s Eknath Shinde and Subhash Desai, NCP’s Jayant Patil and Chhagan Bhujbal, and Congress’s Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut.

Among the eminent present on the occasion were 400 plus farmers and farm widows from all over Maharashtra, Raj Thackeray, Mukesh Ambani & family, DMK Chief MK Stalin, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath, Sharad Pawar, Sushilkumar Shinde, Manohar Joshi, Prithviraj Chavan, Ashok Chavan, Devendra Fadnavis, Abhishek Manu Singhvi, Mallikarjun Kharge, Kapil Sibal, Rajiv Shukla, Praful Patel, Kishore Tiwari, Supriya Sule, Arvind Sawant, Rohit Pawar, Ajit Pawar were present on the occasion.

Uddhav Thackeray will take charge of the Chief Minister’s office at 1 pm on Friday.